• All

Birmingham Brother Rice Quarterback and Michigan-commit Alex Malzone Wins the Hungry Howie’s Mr. Football 2014 Award

By: State Champs! Network, December 8, 2014, 12:00 am
Southfield MI:  Birmingham Brother Rice star quarterback Alex Malzone has been named the 2014 Hungry Howie’s Mr. Football Award winner, an honor which is handed out to the state’s top high school football player every year. The award, hosted annually by State Champs! Network and sponsored by Hungry Howie’s, was presented to Malzone in a ceremony on Dec 3th. 


“I was pretty shocked,” Malzone said of winning the award. “I had no idea this was happening. I know we were having the raffle today at school, but it’s pretty cool to see all of the people come out and support. I appreciate this award greatly, and this is definitely a great award to have. I just want to thank my teammates and coaches, I feel like they deserve it just as much as I do.”


“Alex is our 7th Mr. Football, and quite frankly, this was our toughest decision.”  Said Lorne Plant, Executive Producer and Host of State Champs! Sports Network.  “Anyone of our Final Four candidates would have been deserving.”


Hungry Howie’s is proud to sponsor the Mr. Football Award and proud to be affiliated with high school sports and lines up with its dough-raiser fundraising efforts.
“We are proud to be a part of this award and recognizing outstanding student athletes in the state of Michigan,” said Hungry Howie’s Chief Financial Officer Dave Yeager.


Malzone earned the honor after being named one of the four finalists for the award along with Clarkston quarterback D.J. Zezula, Cass Tech running back Mike Weber and Mona Shores quarterback Tyree Jackson.


“It means a lot,” he said. “There’s a lot of great players that have come from Michigan and have received the Mr. Football Award and I’m very grateful to receive this award.”
The decision was made by a seven-person panel of judges going off of the criteria of the following categories, as stated on the Mr. Football voting page; performance throughout the season (30%), level of competition (20%), online vote (20%), big game performance (15%), team success (10%) and highly recruited athlete (5%).


State Champs! Managing Editor and Senior Analyst Tom Markowski said that what stood out to him about Malzone was his composure and ability to make plays.


“I think it’s his poise in certain games,” he said. “You look at the St. Mary’s game at Ford Field, which I had the pleasure of covering and doing a radio broadcast on and we were remarking on the number of plays. There was one play in particular in the second half where he was scrambling and made a shovel pass before he got hit behind the line of scrimmage and that was a key play on a third down. So there were things that Alex did impromptu wise that made a big difference in key games.”


Malzone threw for 2,998 yards as well as 38 touchdowns and just five interceptions this fall as he led Brother Rice to an 11-1 record in 2014. Malzone finished his career as a starting quarterback with a 25-1 record and led the Warriors to a Division 2 state championship in 2013. 


His 2,998 passing yards and 38 touchdowns are school records at Brother Rice, he also holds the record for completions (211) and attempts (325) in a season for the Warriors.


“He has a tremendous work ethic,” Brother Rice first-year head coach Dave Sofran said. “He’s well respected by his teammates, he’s a great teammate and kind of made everyone around him better and he was out there after practice throwing routes all the time and he didn’t have to throw routes, his arm is pretty strong, but he’s out there to make his team better.”


Malzone has committed to play for the University of Michigan starting next season and is the first Mr. Football Award winner that will play for the Wolverines. Malzone plans to enroll at Michigan in January.


Past winners of Michigan’s Mr. Football award include Torsten Boss (Lowell 2008), Jason Fracassa (Sterling Heights Stevenson 2009), Tommy Vento (Farmington Hills Harrison 2010), Prescott Line (Oxford 2011), Mark Chapman (Port Huron 2012), and Travis Smith (Ithaca 2013).