Burney's Bytes with Scott Burnstein


  • Michigan

Burney’s MHSAA All-NCAA Final Four squad (2000-2020)

By: , April 7, 2020, 9:22 am

In honor of the NCAA national championship game that would have been Monday night, here is Scott M. Burnstein’s all-Final Four squad, made up of players from the modern era of high school hoops in Michigan (2000-2020).

The Guards

Michigan State’s Mateen Cleaves (Flint Northern) — The point guard and captain.

Michigan State’s Cassius Winston (Detroit U-D Jesuit) — The rock-steady savvy vet.

Michigan State’s Charlie Bell (Flint Southwestern) — The jack of all trades.

Indiana’s Dane Fife (Clarkston) — The Defensive Stopper.

Michigan State’s Maurice Ager (Detroit Crockett) — The Finisher.

Michigan State’s Kalin Lucas (Orchard Lake St. Mary’s) — Little big man with ice in his veins.

Michigan State’s Denzel Valentine (Lansing Sexton) — Mr. Do Everything and make it look easy.

The Forwards

Michigan State’s Durrell Summers (Detroit Covenant Christian) — The Motor and Moxie.

Michigan State’s Morris Peterson (Flint Northwestern) — The Southpaw Assassin.

Memphis’ Chris Douglas-Roberts (Detroit Northwestern) — The Grinder.

Duke’s Shane Battier (Birmingham Detroit Country Day) — The Technician.

Kentucky’s James Young (Rochester-Troy) — The Big Gamer.

Michigan State’s Draymond Green (Saginaw) — The perfect point forward.

The Bigs

Michigan State’s Paul Davis (Rochester) — The Thunder & the Lightning.

Florida’s Al Horford (Grand Ledge) — The Big Smooth.