Burney's Bytes with Scott Burnstein


  • Michigan

Burney’s Top 25 Michigan boys basketball state champions of the STATE CHAMPS! era (2003-2019)

By: , March 31, 2020, 4:38 pm

1 Lansing Sexton 2012 (Class B) — NBA guards Denzel Valentine (Michigan State) and Bryn Forbes (Michigan State-Cleveland State) made up one of the greatest backcourts in MHSAA history.

2 Detroit Renaissance 2004 (Class B) — Talk about firepower: Joe Crawford (Kentucky), Malik Hairston (Oregon), Marcus Stout (Fordham), Tajuan Porter (Oregon) … any questions?

3 U-D Jesuit 2016 (Class A) — Cassius Winston (Michigan State) solidified his legacy as maybe the greatest prepster the Catholic League ever produced.

4 Saginaw 2008 (Class A) — Draymond Green (Michigan State/NBA All-Star) with the repeat, the legend of Day-Day is cemented.

5 Lansing Sexton 2011 (Class B) — Denzel and Bryn Pt. 1.

6 Romulus 2013 (Class A)  — Future Alabama head coach Nate Oats finally reached the mountain top. Could be the grittiest team of the SC Era.

7 Birmingham Detroit Country Day 2010 (Class B) — Ray McCallum Jr. (U-D Mercy/NBA) and Amir Williams (Ohio State), a pair of McDonald’s All-Americans, made up one of the most formidable inside-outside tandems in MHSAA history.

8 Saginaw 2007 (Class A)— The legend of Day-Day is born!

9 Clarkston 2018 (Class A)  — Foster Loyer (Michigan State) penciled his name into the MHSAA point guard Mt. Rushmore.

10 Detroit Pershing 2009 (Class A) — Not one, but two Mr. Basketballs on this squad — Keith Appling (Michigan State) and Derrick Nix (Michigan State) — made the Doughboys quite dangerous.

11 Muskegon 2014 (Class A)— Not one, but two Mr. Basketballs on this squad — Deshuan Thrower (Stoney Brook-Ferris State) and Deyonta Davis (Michigan State/NBA) — made this Big Reds club SUPERBAD.

12 Clarkston 2017 (Class A)— Legendary coach Dan Fife finally did it and got hoops-crazy C-Town that elusive crown.

13 Ypsilanti Lincoln 2019 (Class A) — Two words: Emoni. Bates.

14 Grand Rapids Christian 2003 (Class A)  — Kirk Walters (Arizona) delivered one of the all-time great efforts in state finals history, posting 30 points and 20 rebounds (10 of 11 from the field).

15 Detroit dePorres 2003 (Class C) — The last hurrah for the illustrious dePorres program, as  Brandon Cotton (Michigan State-U-D Mercy) was just a beast out of the backcourt

16 Flint Beecher 2013 (Class C) — Two words: Monte. Morris. (Iowa State/NBA)

17 Detroit Consortium 2014 (Class C) — The swan song for future NBA Lottery pick Josh Jackson (Kansas), before leaving for prep school.

18 New Haven 2017 (Class B) — Romeo Weems (DePaul) and Eric Williams (Oregon-Duquesne) were a downright dynamic duo in so many ways.

19 Lansing Everett 2004 (Class A) — Derrick Nelson (Oakland) and Goran Suton (Michigan State) were pure Lansing lightning.

20 Birmingham Detroit Country Day 2013 (Class B) — The ’13 state tourney was the coming out party for Edmond Sumner (Xavier/NBA)

21 Kalamazoo Central 2010 (Class A) — The first of back-to-back championships for Team Thomas and the K-Zoo cage crazies

22 Southfield Christian 2018 (Class D) — Possibly the No. 1 small-school club the state has ever seen: Harlond Beverly (Miami FL), Bryce Washington (Penn), Caleb Hunter (Mississippi Valley State, Bubba Humphrey (Holy Cross)

23 Grand Rapids Christian 2005 (Class A)  Mr. Basketball David Kool (Western Michigan) capped one of the greatest individual tourney runs in MHSAA history and scooped a second ring

24 Benton Harbor 2018 (Class B) — One word: SCOOBY!!

25 (tie) Detroit Western 2015 (Class A) — Quietly penciled itself into the pantheon of priceless PSL hoop crews.

25 (tie) 2005 Detroit Rogers (Class D) — This small school powerhouse “three peated” with a club stocked to the brim with ballers. The Rangers might have been the N0. 1 overall team in the whole state that year regardless of school size. Four players off the ‘05 squad played at the DI level in college: Perryman (Ball St.), Darryl Clements (Bowling Green), Brandon Bryant (Weber St.) and Eric Evans (Duquesne). Evans nailed the game-winning 3-pointer in the state finals.