• Indiana

BURNEY’S BYTES: Burney unveils his IHSAA boys basketball ‘Hoops Heaven’ all-state squads for 2019

By: Scott Burnstein, March 28, 2019, 10:20 pm



Dream Team 1st Team

G Isaiah Thompson (Zionsville Sr.) — Scintillating talent of a point guard, piping hot playmaker who ups everybody’s game around him.

G Jalen Windham (Ben Davis Sr.) — Had a senior season that can best be described as a work of art out of the backcourt.

F Trayce Jackson-Davis (Center Grove Sr.) — Raw power in the frontcourt, as captivating of a presence in the post as there is in the Midwest.

F Caleb Furst (Ft. Wayne Black Hawk Christian Soph.) — Pure thunder at the “4” spot.

C John-Michael Mulloy (Carmel Sr.) — The total package in the middle.


Dream Team 2nd Team

G Luke Bumbalough (New Castle) — A new era Steve Alford, nasty net ripper personified.

G Ethan Brittain-Watts (Culver Academies Sr.) — This Beantown-bound assassin of a floor general was always right on the money with his play.

G/F Armaan Franklin (Indianapolis Cathedral Sr.) — Hustle & Flow by the truckload.

F Cobie Barnes (Floyd Central) — Owned a license to thrill and wasn’t afraid to use it.

C Dawand Jones (Ben Davis Sr.) — Force of nature in whatever sport he chooses, the Giants’ “Big Dandy” was dominant patrolling the paint.


Dream Team 3rd Team

G Luke Brown (Blackford Soph.) — State’s scoring champ, lived in the zone all winter long.

G Alex Hemenway (Castle Sr.) — Checks every box as a shooting guard.

G Zane Gross (Silver Creek Sr.) — LIT like a Christmas tree for his entire senior campaign.

G/F Brandon Newman (Valparaiso Sr.) — Nothing short of magic on the wing.

F Kyle Ross (Andrean Soph.) — We are watching the birth of a superstar.