• Michigan

Damiya Hagemann wins Michigan’s 2021 Miss Basketball award, giving Detroit Edison a three-peat

By: MATTHEW B. MOWERY, April 13, 2021, 2:06 pm

The only opponent to beat Damiya Hagemann her final two years of high school was COVID-19, cancelling the remainder of the 2020 postseason, with her Detroit Edison team poised for a four-peat. 

This spring, it prematurely ended the senior’s career when the Pioneers were forced to withdraw from the tournament just before the regional finals. 

It doesn’t mean she won’t go down among the best to play the game on the high school level in our state’s history, though. 

The two-time champion became the 41st winner of the Mick McCabe Miss Basketball award, given out jointly by the Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan and the Detroit Free Press on Tuesday, keeping that streak alive.

Her most immediate predecessors to win the award were also teammates — Mississippi State-bound Rickea Jackson (2019) and Clemson signee Gabrielle Elliott (2020) — making Edison the first school to ever have back-to-back-to-back winners, and the only school to have three, period.

The only other schools with multiple winners are Redford Bishop Borgess (1995, 1997), Saginaw Nouvel (2002, 2009) and East Lansing (2010, 2018).

Hagemann is the 11th winner of the award who is bound for Michigan State, but the first since Crystal Falls Forest Park’s Lexi Gussert in 2014. She’s ranked as the No. 23 player in the nation in the class of 2021, and the No. 5 point guard. 


The Miss Basketball winners:

1981 — Julie Polakowski, Leland (Michigan State) 

1982 — Sue Tucker, Okemos (Michigan State) 

1983 — Michele Kruty, Manistee (Dayton) 

1984 — Emily Wagner, Livonia Ladywood (Stanford) 

1985 — Franthea Price, River Rouge (Iowa) 

1986 — Daedra Charles, Detroit de Porres (Tennessee) 

1987 — Dena Head, Plymouth Salem (Tennessee) 

1988 — Jennifer Shasky, Birmingham Marian (George Washington) 

1989 — Peggy Evans, Detroit Country Day (Tennessee/Ohio State) 

1990 — Markita Aldridge, Detroit King (UNC-Charlotte) 

1991 — Lisa Negri, Flint Powers (Ohio State) 

1992 — Erinn Reed, Saginaw (Iowa/Kansas)

1993 — Sally Sedlar, Manistee (Toledo/Central Michigan)

1994 — Kim Knuth, St. Joseph (Toledo)

1995 — Maxann Reese, Bishop Borgess (Michigan State)

1996 — Deanna Nolan, Flint Northern (Georgia)

1997 — Aiysha Smith, Bishop Borgess (St. John’s/LSU)

1998 — Kristen Koetsier, Grandville (Western Michigan)

1999 — Vicki Krapohl, Mt. Pleasant (Duke)

2000 — Tabitha Pool, Ann Arbor Huron (Michigan)

2001 — Liz Shimek, Maple City Glen Lake (Michigan State)

2002 — Danielle Kamm, Saginaw Nouvel (Marquette)

2003 — Krista Clement, St. Ignace La Salle (Michigan)

2004 — Tiffanie Shives, Lansing Christian (Michigan State/Gonzaga)

2005 — Allyssa DeHaan, Grandville (Michigan State)

2006 — Brenna Banktson, Frankfort (Western Michigan)

2007 — No award given *

2008 — Kellie Watson, Ionia (Notre Dame/Grand Valley State)

2009 — Jenny Ryan, Saginaw Nouvel (Michigan)

2010 — Klarissa Bell, East Lansing (Michigan State)

2011 — Jasmine Hines, Central Lake (Michigan State)

2012 — Madison Ristovski, Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett (Michigan)

2013 — Tori Jankoska, Freeland (Michigan State)

2014 — Lexi Gussert, Crystal Falls Forest Park (Michigan State)

2015 — Tania Davis, Goodrich (Iowa)

2016 — Kysre Gondrezick, Benton Harbor (Michigan/West Virginia)

2017 — Jordan Walker — Mona Shores (Western Michigan)

2018 — Jaida Hampton, East Lansing (Wichita State University)

2019 — Rickea Jackson, Detroit Edison (Mississippi State)

2020 — Gabrielle Elliott, Detroit Edison (Clemson)

2021 — Damiya Hagemann, Detroit Edison (Michigan State)