• All

De La Salle defeats Mona Shores for first title

By: Tom Markowski, November 28, 2014, 6:00 pm


Detroit – Joey Garbarino accounted for three touchdowns and Allen Stritzinger rushed for 170 yards to lead Warren De La Salle to a 44-8 victory over Muskegon Mona Shores in the Division 2 final on Friday at Ford Field.

It’s the school’s first state football championship and De La Salle is the fourth team from the five-member Catholic League Central Division to win a state title. The other three are Detroit Catholic Central (10), Birmingham Brother Rice (9) and Orchard Lake St. Mary’s (5). U-D Jesuit is the only Central Division team without a title.

De La Salle (11-3) led 23-0 at halftime.

Joey Garbarino opened the scoring with a 1-yard sneak for a touchdown with 5:01 left in the first quarter.

Jake Townsley kicked field goals of 41 and 23 yards to give the Pilots a 13-0 lead with 9:58 left in the half.

After Mona Shores with stopped a yard short on a fake punt, Stritzinger ran 55 yards for a touchdown to give De La Salle a 20-0 lead.

Townsley’s 29-yard field goal with 31 seconds left completed the first-half scoring.

Garbarino threw a 5-yard touchdown pass to Alex Spicuzzi with 7:36 left in the third to increase De La Salle’s lead to 30-0.

Mona Shores (12-2) scored its touchdown on a 12-yard pass from Tyler Trovinger.

Not only was this Mona Shores’ first state final but on Oct. 31 the Sailors defeated Caledonia 42-14 for their first playoff victory.

Last season Mona Shores qualified for the playoffs for the first time.



**EDITORS NOTE: Highlights from this game can be seen on the State Champs! High School Sports Show Sunday at 9 am and 10 pm on Fox Sports Detroit**