• Indiana

Delta’s Addie Chester named 2019-20 Gatorade Indiana Girls Soccer Player of Year

By: MATTHEW B. MOWERY , June 17, 2020, 1:15 pm

Just a sophomore, Addie Chester has already had a huge impact on the Delta High School girls soccer program, leading the Eagles to their first winning record in more than 10 years in the fall. 

Now, she’s been named the Gatorade Indiana Girls Soccer Player of the Year for 2019-20, becoming the first player from her program to earn that honor. 

The company announced its state players of the year on Wednesday, and each state winner is now eligible to be named the Gatorade National Player of the Year, to be announced later this month. 

The No. 37 recruit in the class of 2022 according to, and verbally committed to play at Penn State, Chester scored 53 goals in her sophomore season, adding eight assists, and has 87 goals and 12 assists in her first two years of high school play. 

Her 53 goals ranked third in the state for the season, according to stats on 

“Addie Chester is an all-around natural athlete who is very gifted in the game of soccer,” Shelbyville High head coach Chelsea Dourson said in the Gatorade news release. “What makes her stand out is the true grit she carries in her determination to score.”

[RELATED: Novi’s Avery Fenchel named 2020 Gatorade Michigan Girls Soccer Player of the Year] 

By winning player of the year honors as a sophomore, Chester has a chance of matching Bishop Dwenger’s Sarah Killion (2008-09 to 2010-11) as the only player to win the Indiana award three times. Three others have done it twice.


Previous winners of Gatorade Indiana Girls Soccer POY:

2018-19 — Emily Speidel, Carmel

2017-18 — Kristina Lynch, Penn

2016-17 — Kristina Lynch, Penn

2015-16 — Alia Martin, Brebeuf Jesuit

2014-15 — Reilly Martin, Brebeuf Jesuit

2013-14 — Cassidy Blacha, Avon

2012-13 — Gracie Lachowecki, Evansville Reitz

2011-12 — Brooke Backes, Carmel

2010-11 — Sarah Killion, Bishop Dwenger

2009-10 — Sarah Killion, Bishop Dwenger

2008-09 — Sarah Killion, Bishop Dwenger

2007-08 — Ashley Auld, Noblesville

2006-07 — Julie Scheidler, Bishop Chatard

2005-06 — Lauren Cheney, Ben Davis

2004-05 — Angie Muir, Carmel

2003-04 — Susan Pinnick, South Bend St. Joseph

2002-03 — Molly Kruger, Carmel

2001-02 — Molly Kruger, Carmel

2000-01 — Jamie Fabrizio, Boylan Catholic

1999-00 — Jamie Fabrizio, Boylan Catholic

1998-99 — Kelly Kulsrud, Carmel

1997-98 — Lori Lindsey, Pike