• All

Detroit Athletic Club announces 12 finalists for the 2017 Athlete of the Year awards

By: State Champs! Network, March 30, 2017, 3:25 pm

Detroit – The 12 nominees for the Detroit Athletic Club Athlete of the Year awards have been announced. The two winners will be announced May 8 at the DAC during its awards ceremonies in downtown Detroit.

The six finalists for the female athlete of the year are Meghan Beaubien (softball) of Monroe St. Mary Catholic Central, Kierra Fletcher (basketball) of Warren Cousino, Alexa Hartje (tennis, soccer, ice hockey) of Detroit Country Day, Taylor Manson (track and field) of East Lansing, Meredith Norris (volleyball) of Corunna and Taylor Seaman (swimming) of Brighton.

Last year’s winner was Kysre Gondrezick (basketball) of Benton Harbor.  

In the male category the 2017 finalists are Spencer Carl (swimming) of Holland West Ottawa, Ben Freeman (wrestling) of Walled Lake Central, Noah Jacobs (cross country, track) of Corunna, Steven Mann (baseball, football) of Detroit Country Day, Josh Ross (football, basketball, track) of Orchard Lake St. Mary’s and Cody White (football, basketball, track, baseball) of Walled Lake Western.

Last year’s winner was Cassius Winston (basketball) of U-D Jesuit.

State Champs will broadcast the awards ceremonies on tape delay. The half hour show will air on FoxSports on May 13 (7:30 p.m.), May 14 (2 p.m.), May 15 (8 a.m.), May 16 (2 p.m., 11:30 p.m.), May 18 (7:30 p.m.), May 21 (10:30 a.m.), May 22 (8:30 a.m.), May 25 (6 p.m.) and May 29 (4 p.m.)

Lorne Plant, the host of the State Champs High School Sports Show that airs on FoxSports on Sundays at 9 a.m., is the master of ceremonies.