• All

Dundee wins ninth state title, 40-16, over Chippewa Hills

By: Dan Stickradt, February 27, 2016, 7:48 pm

Mount Pleasant – Tim Roberts has now passed up his mentor.

The Dundee wrestling coach served for years under legendary Jim Wittibslager, who won four team state titles for the Vikings. Roberts won his fifth in his 17th season at Dundee.

Dundee captured its ninth title over a 22-year span on Saturday, taking down first-time finalist Remus Chippewa Hills, 40-16, in the Division 3 final before over 5,000 fans at Central Michigan’s McGuirk Arena.

“I never thought that I would be standing here passing up my mentor,” smiled Roberts. “I learned a lot from him. What a great coach. But I passed him up. I am in the lead now.”

Top-seeded Dundee wrapped up a rare 21-0 perfect dual meet season and did so by overwhelming fellow state power Chippewa Hills, which has reached the quarterfinals and semifinals multiple times but competed in the finals match for the first time.

The Warriors finished 39-2. They reached the semifinals last season before losing to eventual state champion Richmond. 

“We had a great run and we had hoped to win it,” said Nate Ethridge. “But we lost to a great team. Dundee is always tough.”

Dundee opened with a 20-3 lead after six weight classes and never looked back. Tylor Orrison (135, decision), Zachary Blevins (140, major decision), Kyle Reinhart (152, pin), Sean Sterling (160, pin) and Kyle Motylinski (171, decision) gave the Vikings the comfortable advantage. 

Dundee won nine matches and was never seriously threatened. 

Brandon Whitman (215, pin), Jonathon White (103, decision), Daniel Jaworski (112, decision) and Zachary Bellaire (125, pin) also recorded victories for Dundee, which is 9-6 all-time in state title matches dating back to the start of the team state tournament in 1988. 

The Vikings won state titles in 2016, 2014, 2013, 2007, 2001, 1998, 1997, 1996 and 1995. Dundee lost in the finals in 2015, 2012, 2010, 2009, 2008 and 1993. 

This year’s title run came with the pressure of not only coming in with the No. 1 tag, but Dundee’s run was with only 15 healthy varsity wrestlers.

“I think there is some pressure, because people do expect you to do well,” Roberts said. “It’s never easy. This year we had to do it with countless injuries. We only dressed 15 bodies for the finals. We had a state qualifier from last had a dear break his leg, and we had a district champion in a sling, plus a few other injuries. Plus we had a few guys from last year not come out for wrestling, which forced some younger guys into our lineup. I thought we had a lot of kids step up this year when we needed them to. This is their reward.”




135: Tylor Orrison (Dundee) d. Slade Todd 9-8; 140: Zachary Blevins (Dundee) maj. dec. Austin Spedowski 19-6; 145: Jaycob Sharp (Remus Chippewa Hills) d. Alex Motylinski 7-0; 152: Kyle Reinhart (Dundee) p. David Spedowski 3:49; 160: Sean Sterling (Dundee) p. Robert Granberry 1:25; 171: Kyle Motylinski (Dundee) d. Luke Henderson 4-2 (OT); 189: Brendan Barry (Remus Chippewa Hills) d. Gabe Heiserman 6-4; 215: Brandon Whitman (Dundee) p. Austin Santa 0:57; 285: Billy Koepf (Remus Chippewa Hills) d. Tyler Mayo 2-1 (OT); 103: Jonathon White (Dundee) d. Bray Haynes 3-2; 112: Daniel Jaworski (Dundee) d. Mason Hayes 3-2; 119: Kaden Ellis (Remus Chippewa Hills) maj. dec. Gavin Rorke 10-0; 125: Zachary Bellaire (Dundee) p. Amisun Oliver 0:42; 130: Austin Young (Remus Chippewa Hills) d. Ryan Desbrough 10-5.