• Michigan

Elliott, Sollom, Nye honored as finalists are announced for 2020 Miss Basketball

By: MATTHEW B. MOWERY, February 21, 2020, 3:51 pm

The three finalists for the Miss Basketball award were announced Friday by the joint sponsors of the award, the Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan and the Detroit Free Press.

The smallest-ever ballot with just three eligible candidates includes Detroit Edison’s Gabrielle Elliott, Hartland’s Whitney Sollom and East Lansing’s Aaliyah Nye.

Elliott’s teammate, Rickea Jackson, won the award in 2019, while East Lansing has quite an extensive history with Miss Basketball: Klarissa Bell won in 2010 and Jaida Hampton won it in 2018. No Livingston County player has ever won the award, so Sollom could be the first to do it.

Sollom is signed with Michigan, Elliott with Clemson and Nye with Illinois. 

After voting by the BCAM membership, the award will be presented at the Detroit Free Press offices on March 13. 

The Miss Basketball winners:

1981 — Julie Polakowski, Leland (Michigan State) 

1982 — Sue Tucker, Okemos (Michigan State) 

1983 — Michele Kruty, Manistee (Dayton) 

1984 — Emily Wagner, Livonia Ladywood (Stanford) 

1985 — Franthea Price, River Rouge (Iowa) 

1986 — Daedra Charles, Detroit de Porres (Tennessee) 

1987 — Dena Head, Plymouth Salem (Tennessee) 

1988 — Jennifer Shasky, Birmingham Marian (George Washington) 

1989 — Peggy Evans, Detroit Country Day (Tennessee/Ohio State) 

1990 — Markita Aldridge, Detroit King (UNC-Charlotte) 

1991 — Lisa Negri, Flint Powers (Ohio State) 

1992 — Erinn Reed, Saginaw (Iowa/Kansas)

1993 — Sally Sedlar, Manistee (Toledo/Central Michigan)

1994 — Kim Knuth, St. Joseph (Toledo)

1995 — Maxann Reese, Bishop Borgess (Michigan State)

1996 — Deanna Nolan, Flint Northern (Georgia)

1997 — Aiysha Smith, Bishop Borgess (St. John’s/LSU)

1998 — Kristen Koetsier, Grandville (Western Michigan)

1999 — Vicki Krapohl, Mt. Pleasant (Duke)

2000 — Tabitha Pool, Ann Arbor Huron (Michigan)

2001 — Liz Shimek, Maple City Glen Lake (Michigan State)

2002 — Danielle Kamm, Saginaw Nouvel (Marquette)

2003 — Krista Clement, St. Ignace La Salle (Michigan)

2004 — Tiffanie Shives, Lansing Christian (Michigan State/Gonzaga)

2005 — Allyssa DeHaan, Grandville (Michigan State)

2006 — Brenna Banktson, Frankfort (Western Michigan)

2007 — No award given *

2008 — Kellie Watson, Ionia (Notre Dame/Grand Valley State)

2009 — Jenny Ryan, Saginaw Nouvel (Michigan)

2010 — Klarissa Bell, East Lansing (Michigan State)

2011 — Jasmine Hines, Central Lake (Michigan State)

2012 — Madison Ristovski, Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett (Michigan)

2013 — Tori Jankoska, Freeland (Michigan State)

2014 — Lexi Gussert, Crystal Falls Forest Park (Michigan State)

2015 — Tania Davis, Goodrich (Iowa)

2016 — Kysre Gondrezick, Benton Harbor (Michigan/West Virginia)

2017 — Jordan Walker — Mona Shores (Western Michigan)

2018 — Jaida Hampton, East Lansing (Wichita State University)

2019 — Rickea Jackson, Detroit Edison (Mississippi State)