• Michigan

Emoni Bates becomes fourth player to win Gatorade Michigan Boys Basketball Player of the Year honors twice

By: MATTHEW B. MOWERY, March 19, 2020, 7:51 pm

He might not get to finish his sophomore season with a trophy — just yet anyway — but Ypsilanti Lincoln’s Emoni Bates is still bringing home the hardware.

Bates was named the Gatorade Michigan Boys Basketball Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, after averaging 31 points and 10 rebounds as a sophomore.

Lincoln assistant AD Katie Moffett tweeted out congratulations Thursday evening.

The defending Division 1 champions, Bates’ Railsplitters (19-3) were expecting to be playing in the district finals against Ann Arbor Huron (21-1) last Friday night, before the postseason was put on ‘pause’ by the MHSAA, to help slow the expansion of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Bates became the fourth player to win the Michigan award in consecutive years, joining Detroit Country Day’s Chris Webber (1989-90 and 1990-91) and Ray McCallum Jr. (2008-09 and 2009-10), as well as Bay City Western’s Matt Costello (2010-11 and 2011-12).

The Lincoln sophomore was also named the the Naismith High School All-American second team this week. 

Bates also put his name in the record books earlier this season, with a 63-point, 21-rebound outburst against Chelsea in a double-overtime win. 


The Gatorade Michigan Boys Basketball Player of the Year winners:

2019-20 — Emoni Bates, So., Ypsilanti Lincoln

2018-19 — Emoni Bates, Fr., Ypsilanti Lincoln

2017-18 — Foster Loyer, Sr., Clarkston

2016-17 — Isaiah Livers, Sr., Kalamazoo Central

2015-16 — Cassius Winston, Sr., Detroit U-D Jesuit

2014-15 — Deyonta Davis, Sr., Muskegon

2013-14 — Yante Maten, Sr., Bloomfield Hills

2012-13 — Derrick Walton Jr., Harper Woods Chandler Park

2011-12 — Matt Costello, Sr., Bay City Western

2010-11 — Matt Costello, Jr., Bay City Western

2009-10 — Ray McCallum Jr., Sr., Detroit Country Day

2008-09 — Ray McCallum Jr., Jr., Detroit Country Day

2007-08 — Brad Redford, Sr., Frankenmuth

2006-07 — Corperryale “Manny” Harris, Sr., Redford 

2005-06 — Deshawn Sims, Sr., Detroit Pershing

2004-05 — Zach Gibson, Sr., Grand Blanc

2003-04 — Malik Hairston, Sr., Detroit Renaissance

2002-03 — Brandon Cotton, Sr., Detroit dePorres

2001-02 — Anthony Roberson, Sr., Saginaw

2000-01 — Kelvin Torbert, Sr., Flint Northwestern

1999-00 — Marcus Taylor, Sr., Lansing Waverly

1998-99 — LaVell Blanchard, Sr., Ann Arbor Pioneer

1997-98 — Dane Fife, Sr., Clarkston

1996-97 — Shane Battier, Sr., Detroit Country Day

1995-96 — Mateen Cleaves, Sr., Flint Northern

1994-95 — Robert Traylor, Sr., Detroit Murray-Wright

1993-94 — Maurice Taylor, Sr., Detroit Henry Ford

1992-93 — Jon Garavaglia, Sr., Southgate Aquinas

1991-92 — Kenyon Murray, Sr., Battle Creek Central

1990-91 — Chris Webber, Sr., Detroit Country Day

1989-90 — Chris Webber, Jr., Detroit Country Day

1988-89 — Sam Mitchell, Sr., Kalamazoo Loy Norrix

1987-88 — Matt Steigenga, Sr., Grand Rapids South Christian

1986-87 — Mark Macon, Sr., Saginaw Buena Vista

1985-86 — Terry Mills, Sr., Romulus