• Michigan

Five finalists announced for 40th annual Hal Schram Mr. Basketball award

By: MATTHEW B. MOWERY, February 28, 2020, 11:16 am

The five finalists for the 40th Annual Hal Schram Mr. Basketball award were announced Friday by the joint sponsors of the award, the Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan, and the Detroit Free Press.

They are:

Tyson Acuff, G, Detroit Cass Tech

• Lorne Bowman Jr., G, Orchard Lake St. Mary’s

• Carlos “Scooby” Johnson, F, Benton Harbor

Matt Nicholson, C, Clarkston

• Jalen Terry, G, Flint Beecher

Terry is signed with Oregon, while the 7-foot-1 Nicholson is headed to Northwestern. Johnson is bound for Butler, while Bowman is a Wisconsin signee, and Acuff — recently named Mr. PSL — is destined for Duquesne. 

After voting by the active BCAM membership, the award will be presented to the winner on March 23 at the Free Press offices. 


The Mr. Basketball winners:

2019 — Romeo Weems, New Haven (DePaul)

2018 — Foster Loyer, Clarkston (Michigan State)

2017 — Isaiah LiversKalamazoo Central (Michigan)

2016 — Cassius Winston, University of Detroit Jesuit (Michigan State)

2015 — Deyonta Davis, Muskegon (Michigan State)

2014 — Deshaun Thrower, Muskegon (Stony Brook/Ferris State)

2013 — Monté Morris, Flint Beecher (Iowa State)

2012 — Matt Costello, Bay City Western (Michigan State)

2011 — Dwaun Anderson, Suttons Bay (Wagner)

2010 — Keith Appling, Detroit Pershing (Michigan State)

2009 — Derrick Nix, Detroit Pershing (Michigan State)

2008 — Brad Redford, Frankenmuth (Xavier )

2007 — Manny Harris, Detroit Redford (Michigan)

2006 — David Kool, Grand Rapids South Christian (Western Michigan)

2005 — Wilson Chandler, Benton Harbor (DePaul)

2004 — Drew Neitzel, Wyoming Park (Michigan State)

2003 — Dion Harris, Detroit Redford(Michigan)

2002 — Paul Davis, Rochester (Michigan State)

2001 — Kelvin Torbert, Flint Northwestern (Michigan State)

2000 — Marcus Taylor, Lansing Waverly (Michigan State)

1999 — Jason Richardson, Saginaw Arthur Hill (Michigan State)

1998 — Dane Fife, Clarkston (Indiana)

1997 — Shane Battier, Detroit Country Day (Duke)

1996 — Winfred Walton, Detroit Pershing (Fresno State)

1995 — Robert Traylor, Detroit Murray-Wright (Michigan)

1994 — Willie Mitchell, Detroit Pershing (Michigan/UAB)

1993 — Jon Garavaglia, Southgate Aquinas (Michigan State)

1992 — Kenyon Murray, Battle Creek Central (Iowa)

1991 — Chris Webber, Detroit Country Day (Michigan)

1990 — Anthony Miller, Benton Harbor (Michigan State)

1989 — Michael Talley, Detroit Cooley (Michigan)

1988 — Matt Steigenga, Grand Rapids South Christian (Michigan State)

1987 — Mark Macon, Saginaw Buena Vista (Temple)

1986 — Terry Mills, Romulus (Michigan)

1985 — Glen Rice, Flint Northwestern (Michigan)

1984 — Demetreus Gore, Detroit Chadsey (Pittsburgh)

1983 — Antoine Joubert, Detroit Southwestern (Michigan)

198 — Robert Henderson, Lansing Eastern (Michigan)

1981 — Sam Vincent, Lansing Eastern (Michigan State)