Cross Country

  • All

Fremont takes Division 2, has four runners in the top 20

By: Bill Khan, November 7, 2015, 11:47 pm



Brooklyn – At the Division 2 boys cross country finals on Saturday, Fremont rolled to a 69-162 victory over Otsego by putting four runners in the top 19. Junior Matthew Zerfas led Fremont, taking fifth in 15:44.7 after placing fourth last year.

Algonac senior Morgan Beadlescomb won his much-anticipated showdown with Corunna junior Noah Jacobs in 15:26.5 to repeat as champion. Jacobs was second in 15:30.5. The two produced the fastest times in the state this year at the Portage Invitational on Oct. 10, with Beadlescomb going 14:59 and Jacobs 15:00.

In Division 3, Lansing Catholic Central won its first championship after taking second twice and third once in the previous five seasons. The Cougars edged two-time defending champion Benzie Central, 124-127. Junior Ethan Markey, running in his third MHSAA finals, placed 20th in 16:25.1 to lead Lansing Catholic.

Senior Abe Visser of Grandville Calvin Christian won in 15:34.8. James McCann of Holland Black River was second in 15:48.4.

In Division 4, Saugatuck put five runners in the top 15 to win by a 51-92 margin over Bear Lake-Onekama. Zachary Pettinga took second in 16:22.2 to lead Saugatuck.

Evart senior Santana Scott won in 16:05.7, becoming the school’s first state champion since Gaylord Denslow in 1952.