• Michigan

King’s Dequan Finn adds Gatorade Michigan POY award to State Champs! Mr. Football honors

By: Matthew B. Mowery, December 6, 2018, 12:00 pm

First it was the 2018 State Champs! Michigan High School Mr. Football Award, sponsored by Hungry Howie’s.

Now Detroit King’s Dequan Finn has been named the Gatorade Michigan Football Player of the Year, becoming the first Crusader to earn the honors in the 34 years Gatorade has been handing out the award.

Finn joins such prestigious state-award winners as Emmitt Smith (Florida, 1986), Matthew Stafford (Texas, 2005) and Christian McCaffrey (Colorado, 2012 and 2013), and will be a finalist for the Gatorade National Football Player of the Year, which will be announced in December.

Committed to Toledo, Finn was 109 of 185 passing for 2,109 yards,  26 touchdowns and just seven interceptions as a senior, with 1,307 yards rushing and 21 touchdowns. He led the Crusaders to a Division 2 state title as a sophomore and a Division 3 title as a senior.

The last five winners of the Gatorade Michigan Football POY award include Muskegon’s La’Darius Jefferson (2017), Detroit Cass Tech’s Donovan Peoples-Jones (2016), Lansing Catholic’s Tony Poljan (2015), Birmingham Brother Rice’s Alex Malzone (2014) and Ithaca’s Travis Smith (2013).


Previous Gatorade Michigan Football POY winners:

2017 — La’Darius Jefferson, QB, Muskegon*

2016 — Donovan Peoples-Jones, WR, Detroit Cass Tech

2015 — Tony Poljan, QB, Lansing Catholic

2014 — Alex Malzone, QB, Birmingham Brother Rice*

2013 — Travis Smith, QB, Ithaca*

2012 — Mark Chapman, QB/DB/KR, Port Huron

2011 — Cooper Rush, QB, Lansing Catholic

2010 — Valdez Showers, RB/DB, Madison Heights Madison

2009 — Jason Fracassa, QB, Sterling Heights Stevenson*

2008 — Joe Glendening, RB, East Grand Rapids

2007 — Mike Martin, DT, Novi Detroit Catholic Central

2006 — Keith Nichol, QB, Lowell

2005 — Brandon Graham, DE, Detroit Crockett

2004 — Kevin Grady Jr., RB, East Grand Rapids

2003 — Justin Hoskins, RB, Grand Rapids Creston

2002 — LaMarr Woodley, LB, Saginaw

2001 — Tim Shaw, RB, Livonia Clarenceville

2000 — Brad Leach, QB, Utica

1999 — Charles Rogers, WR, Saginaw

1998 — T.J. Duckett, QB/RB/LB, Kalamazoo Loy Norrix

1997 — Drew Henson, QB, Brighton

1996 — Maurice Williams, OT/DT, Detroit Pershing

1995 — John Anes, RB/LB, East Kentwood

1994 — David Bowens, LB/TE, Orchard Lake St. Mary’s

1993 — Chris Floyd, RB, Detroit Cooley

1992 — Clarence Thompson, QB, Detroit King

1991 — Pete Chryplewicz, TE, Sterling Heights Stevenson

1990 — Shannon McLean, LB/FB, Detroit DePorres

1989 — Jerome Bettis, RB/LB, Detroit Mackenzie

1988 — Jim Miller, QB, Waterford Kettering

1987 — Jason Wolf, RB/DB, Birmingham Brother Rice

1986 — Tony Briningstool, LB, Northville

1985 — Allan Jefferson, RB, Warren De La Salle


* — Also named State Champs! Mr. Football, an award which started in 1998