• Ohio

LSU-bound Roger Bacon RB Corey Kiner takes home 34th Ohio Mr. Football award

By: MATTHEW B. MOWERY, December 10, 2020, 12:42 pm

Roger Bacon running back Corey Kiner was announced as the 34th annual Mr. Football award winner by the Ohio High School Athletic Association and Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association on Thursday. 

First-team all-district four times, and a member of the All-Ohio team three of his four years — twice first team, once second team — Kiner rushed for 1,866 yards on 135 carries (13.8 yards per tote) and 37 touchdowns for a 10-1 Roger Bacon squad. He finished with 2,133 all-purpose yards. 

It’s the 22nd time a running back has taken home the trophy, but the first time a player from Roger Bacon has won it, as well as the first time a LSU commit claimed the prize (Athens QB Joe Burrow won it in 2014, and ended up at LSU after signing with Ohio State out of high school.)

Kirtland running back Mason Sullivan, New Middletown Springfield quarterback Beau Brungard, Mentor quarterback Ian Kipp, Westerville South quarterback Peter Pedrozo, Van Wert quarterback Owen Treece, Ironton RB/LB Reid Carrico, Pickerington Central WR/DB Lorenzo Styles Jr. and Byesville Meadowbrook quarterback Davis Singleton were finalists for the award, according to the news release. Brungard is the only junior among the group. 


Ohio Mr. Football Winners (college destination):

1987: Buster Howe, RB-DB-K-P, Zanesville, Ohio State

1988: Robert Smith, RB, Euclid, Ohio State

1989: Robert Smith, RB, Euclid, Ohio State

1990: Bobby Hoying, QB, St. Henry, Ohio State

1991: Derek Kidwell, QB-DE, Fostoria, Bowling Green

1992: Marc Edwards, RB-LB, Norwood, Notre Dame

1993: Curtis Enis, RB-LB, Mississinawa Valley, Penn State

1994: Charles Woodson, DB-RB, Fremont Ross, Michigan

1995: Andy Katzenmoyer, LB, Westerville South, Ohio State

1996: Derek Combs, RB-DB-KR, Grove City, Ohio State

1997: Tony Fisher, RB, Euclid, Notre Dame

1998: Ryan Brewer, RB, Troy, South Carolina

1999: Bam Childress, DB-WR-KR, Bedford St. Peter Chanel, Ohio State

2000: Jeff Backes, RB-DB, Upper Arlington, Northwestern

2001: Maurice Clarett, RB, Warren G. Harding, Ohio State

2002: Ben Mauk, QB, Kenton, Wake Forest/Cincinnati

2003: Ray Williams, RB, Cleveland Benedictine, West Virginia

2004: Tyrell Sutton, RB, Archbishop Hoban, Northwestern

2005: Delone Carter, RB, Copley, Syracuse

2006: Brandon Saine, RB, Piqua, Ohio State

2007: Bart Tanski, QB, Mentor, Bowling Green

2008: Erick Howard, RB, North Canton Hoover, Akron

2009: Erick Howard, RB, North Canton Hoover, Akron

2010: Akise Teague, RB-DB-KR, Youngstown Ursuline, Cincinnati

2011: Maty Mauk, QB, Kenton, Missouri/Eastern Kentucky

2012: Mitch Trubisky, QB, Mentor, North Carolina

2013: Dante Booker Jr., LB, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary, Ohio State

2014: Joe Burrow, QB, Athens, Ohio State/LSU

2015: Keishaun Sims, RB-DB, Massillon Perry, Ashland University

2016: Michael Warren, RB, Toledo Central Catholic, University of Cincinnati

2017: Joey Baughman, QB, Wadsworth, Virginia (Wrestling)

2018: Cade Stover, SS-RB, Lexington, Ohio State

2019: Evan Prater, QB, Wyoming, University of Cincinnati

2020: Corey Kiner, RB, Roger Bacon, Louisiana State University