• Michigan

MSU-bound Pierre Brooks II adds 2020 Michigan Mr. Basketball trophy to collection, after grabbing state title last weekend

By: MATTHEW B. MOWERY, April 16, 2021, 1:00 pm

Pierre Brooks got a little emotional at the postgame press conference, after the final game coaching his son, Pierre Brooks II.

The coach was trying to articulate what it meant to win a state title with his son, after Detroit Frederick Douglass Academy beat Wyoming Tri-unity Christian in the Division 4 finals last weekend.

“I’ve never said this to him personally, but Pierre is the best player I’ve ever coached,” Brooks Sr. said. “I’ve been coaching now for 22 years. Just the work that he puts in on his own, the dedication he has to get stronger and to get better every day, I’ve never had a kid like him. He just so happens to be my son, so this moment is really special for me.”

Friday’s moment will just add to that, as Brooks II was named the 41st winner of the Hal Schram Mr. Basketball award, given out jointly by the Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan and the Detroit Free Press.

The only player in Detroit Public School League history to be named first-team all-city all four years, and the winner of this year’s Mr. PSL award, the 6-foot-6 Michigan State commit averaged more than 32 points and 10 rebounds per game as a senior, leading Douglass to the Division 4 state title. 

As a junior, Brooks averaged 23 points per game, seven rebounds, three assists and two steals. He had 17 games of 20 or more points, 11 of 25-plus and two games over 30. 

A week after going for 46 points and 13 rebounds in the regional championship game win over Allen Park Inter-City Baptist, he dropped 35 points, 13 rebounds and five assists in a quarterfinal win over Southfield Christian. He had 22 points in a double-overtime, 55-51 win over Plymouth Christian in the regional semifinals. 

Grand Rapids Christian’s Kobe Bufkin, River Rouge’s Legend Geeter, Orchard Lake St. Mary’s Julian Roper and Iron Mountain’s Foster Wonders were the other four finalists for the award. 

Brooks II has been a member of the MHSAA Advisory Council, spends his weekends as a volunteer assistant coach for the Williams Center Wildcats, and has worked summer camps at Grosse Pointe Academy and St. Cecilia. 

“I am so proud of PJ as his father and coach for his accomplishments on the court, but I’m even more proud of the young man he has become off the court,” Brooks Sr. wrote in his son’s nominating form for the Mr. Basketball award. 


The Mr. Basketball winners:

2021 — Pierre Brooks II, Detroit Frederick Douglass Academy (Michigan State)

2020 — Carlos “Scooby” Johnson, Benton Harbor (Butler)

2019 — Romeo Weems, New Haven (DePaul)

2018 — Foster Loyer, Clarkston (Michigan State)

2017 — Isaiah LiversKalamazoo Central (Michigan)

2016 — Cassius Winston, University of Detroit Jesuit (Michigan State)

2015 — Deyonta Davis, Muskegon (Michigan State)

2014 — Deshaun Thrower, Muskegon (Stony Brook/Ferris State)

2013 — Monté Morris, Flint Beecher (Iowa State)

2012 — Matt Costello, Bay City Western (Michigan State)

2011 — Dwaun Anderson, Suttons Bay (Wagner)

2010 — Keith Appling, Detroit Pershing (Michigan State)

2009 — Derrick Nix, Detroit Pershing (Michigan State)

2008 — Brad Redford, Frankenmuth (Xavier )

2007 — Manny Harris, Detroit Redford (Michigan)

2006 — David Kool, Grand Rapids South Christian (Western Michigan)

2005 — Wilson Chandler, Benton Harbor (DePaul)

2004 — Drew Neitzel, Wyoming Park (Michigan State)

2003 — Dion Harris, Detroit Redford(Michigan)

2002 — Paul Davis, Rochester (Michigan State)

2001 — Kelvin Torbert, Flint Northwestern (Michigan State)

2000 — Marcus Taylor, Lansing Waverly (Michigan State)

1999 — Jason Richardson, Saginaw Arthur Hill (Michigan State)

1998 — Dane Fife, Clarkston (Indiana)

1997 — Shane Battier, Detroit Country Day (Duke)

1996 — Winfred Walton, Detroit Pershing (Fresno State)

1995 — Robert Traylor, Detroit Murray-Wright (Michigan)

1994 — Willie Mitchell, Detroit Pershing (Michigan/UAB)

1993 — Jon Garavaglia, Southgate Aquinas (Michigan State)

1992 — Kenyon Murray, Battle Creek Central (Iowa)

1991 — Chris Webber, Detroit Country Day (Michigan)

1990 — Anthony Miller, Benton Harbor (Michigan State)

1989 — Michael Talley, Detroit Cooley (Michigan)

1988 — Matt Steigenga, Grand Rapids South Christian (Michigan State)

1987 — Mark Macon, Saginaw Buena Vista (Temple)

1986 — Terry Mills, Romulus (Michigan)

1985 — Glen Rice, Flint Northwestern (Michigan)

1984 — Demetreus Gore, Detroit Chadsey (Pittsburgh)

1983 — Antoine Joubert, Detroit Southwestern (Michigan)

1982 — Robert Henderson, Lansing Eastern (Michigan)

1981 — Sam Vincent, Lansing Eastern (Michigan State)