• Michigan

New Haven’s Romeo Weems named 39th winner of Hal Schram Mr. Basketball Award

By: Matthew B. Mowery, March 11, 2019, 1:30 pm

DETROIT — He was the presumptive favorite for the Mr. Basketball award, and the voting turned out that way.

New Haven’s Romeo Weems was named the 39th winner of the Hal Schram Mr. Basketball Award winner on Monday at the offices of the Detroit Free Press, having won the voting in a landslide. Weems finished with 3,689 points, well ahead of Canton’s B. Artis White (1,789), Detroit Renaissance’s Chandler Turner (1,520) and Westland John Glenn’s Joe Moon (1,372).

Weems averaged 28 points, 11 rebounds, four assists and four steals for a 24-1 New Haven team that plays Harper Woods Chandler Park in Tuesday’s Division 2 quarterfinals.

The DePaul-bound Weems helped lead New Haven to the Class B championship as a sophomore, and is looking for his second ring later this week.

“I feel like we’ve got a chance to win it. If we keep playing hard, keep working, getting better every day, keep playing like we played tonight … we’re going to do it,” Weems said after the Macomb Area Conference A/B title game against Division 1 quarterfinalist Roseville.

Weems loved playing on that big stage, and others, where the spotlight is on him.

“I love the stands being packed, the crowd saying ‘overrated,’ booing and all that stuff. I love that,” Weems said, noting that he also doesn’t mind being a facilitator for teammates. “It just shows you that you don’t have to score 1,000 points per game to affect the game. I’m getting double-teamed, triple-teamed, but I can still affect the game with way I play, take a charge, dive on the floor.”


The Mr. Basketball winners:

2019 — Romeo Weems, New Haven (DePaul)

2018 — Foster Loyer, Clarkston (Michigan State)    

2017 — Isaiah Livers    Kalamazoo Central (Michigan)    

2016 — Cassius Winston, University of Detroit Jesuit (Michigan State)    

2015 — Deyonta Davis, Muskegon (Michigan State)

2014 — Deshaun Thrower, Muskegon (Stony Brook/Ferris State)    

2013 — Monté Morris, Flint Beecher (Iowa State)

2012 — Matt Costello, Bay City Western (Michigan State)    

2011 — Dwaun Anderson, Suttons Bay (Wagner)    

2010 — Keith Appling, Detroit Pershing (Michigan State)    

2009 — Derrick Nix, Detroit Pershing (Michigan State)    

2008 — Brad Redford, Frankenmuth (Xavier    )

2007 — Manny Harris, Detroit Redford (Michigan)    

2006 — David Kool, Grand Rapids South Christian (Western Michigan)    

2005 — Wilson Chandler, Benton Harbor (DePaul)

2004 — Drew Neitzel, Wyoming Park (Michigan State)

2003 — Dion Harris, Detroit Redford    (Michigan)    

2002 — Paul Davis, Rochester (Michigan State)

2001 — Kelvin Torbert, Flint Northwestern (Michigan State)

2000 — Marcus Taylor, Lansing Waverly (Michigan State)

1999 — Jason Richardson, Saginaw Arthur Hill (Michigan State)

1998 — Dane Fife, Clarkston (Indiana)    

1997 — Shane Battier, Detroit Country Day (Duke)

1996 — Winfred Walton, Detroit Pershing (Fresno State)    

1995 — Robert Traylor, Detroit Murray-Wright (Michigan)

1994 — Willie Mitchell, Detroit Pershing (Michigan/UAB)    

1993 — Jon Garavaglia, Southgate Aquinas (Michigan State)    

1992 — Kenyon Murray, Battle Creek Central (Iowa)

1991 — Chris Webber, Detroit Country Day (Michigan)

1990 — Anthony Miller, Benton Harbor (Michigan State)

1989 — Michael Talley, Detroit Cooley (Michigan)

1988 — Matt Steigenga, Grand Rapids South Christian (Michigan State)

1987 — Mark Macon, Saginaw Buena Vista (Temple)

1986 — Terry Mills, Romulus (Michigan)

1985 — Glen Rice, Flint Northwestern (Michigan)

1984 — Demetreus Gore, Detroit Chadsey (Pittsburgh)    

1983 — Antoine Joubert, Detroit Southwestern (Michigan)

198 — Robert Henderson, Lansing Eastern (Michigan)

1981 — Sam Vincent,    Lansing Eastern (Michigan State)