• Indiana

Northwestern’s Madison Layden named Gatorade Indiana Girls Basketball Player of the Year for 2020

By: MATTHEW B. MOWERY, March 6, 2020, 12:00 pm

Northwestern’s Madison Layden was named the winner of the Gatorade Indiana Girls Basketball Player of the Year award, the company announced Friday, becoming the first such honoree from her school.

Layden beat out last year’s Gatorade POY, Hamilton Southeastern’s Oregon-bound Sydney Parrish, for this year’s award. Parrish was making a bid to become the sixth Indiana player to win the award twice since its inception in 1986.

A 6-foot-1 senior guard headed to play in the Big Ten at Purdue, Layden led Northwestern to a 3A state title in 2019, and back to the championship game this season. The three-time first-team all-state selection carries a 4.01 GPA, and also earned all-state honors in tennis and volleyball. She volunteered at the Kokomo Humane Society and at a veterans home, and has donated her time to helping out with Special Olympics and refereeing and coaching youth basketball.

As a senior, Layden averaged 25.6 points, 6.4 assists, 5.1 steals and 4.2 rebounds for the Tigers, finishing her career with 2,360 points, 713 assists, 539 steals and 509 rebounds. 

As the state winner of the honors from Gatorade, Layden will now be eligible to be honored as the Gatorade National Player of the Year, selected from the pool of state winners.


Previous Gatorade Indiana Girls Basketball Player of the Year winners:

2019 — Sydney Parrish, Hamilton Southeastern

2018 — Amy Dilk, Carmel

2017 — Karissa McLaughlin, Homestead

2016 — Jackie Young, Princeton

2015 — Ali Patberg, Columbus North

2014 — Whitney Jennings, Logansport

2013 — Stephanie Mavunga, Brownsburg

2012 — Stephanie Mavunga, Brownsburg

2011 — Bria Goss, Ben Davis

2010 — Courtney Moses, Oak Hill

2009 — Skylar Diggins, South Bend Washington

2008 — Skylar Diggins, South Bend Washington

2007 — Ta’Shia Phillips, Brebeuf Jesuit

2006 — Ta’Shia Phillips, Brebeuf Jesuit

2005 — Cassie Kerns, Valparaiso

2004 — Janese Banks, Ben Davis

2003 — Katie Geralds, Beech Grove

2002 — Shanna Zolman, Wawasee

2001 — Shyra Ely, Ben Davis

2000 — Shyra Ely, Ben Davis

1999 — Kennitra Johnson, New Albany

1998 — Kelly Komara, Lake Central

1997 — Lisa Shepherd, Richmond

1996 — Jill Morton, North Decatur

1995 — Stephanie White, Seeger Memorial

1994 — Stephanie White, Seeger Memorial

1993 — Abby Conklin, Charlestown

1992 — Marla Inman, Bedford North Lawrence

1991 — Jennifer Jacoby, Rossville

1990 — Patricia Babcock, Culver Academy

1989 — Courtney Cox, Noblesville

1988 — Vicki Hall, Brebeuf Jesuit

1987 — Ann Zelleres, Western Boone

1986 — Shannon Freeman, Jay County