• Michigan

Novi’s Avery Fenchel named 2020 Gatorade Michigan Girls Soccer Player of the Year

By: MATTHEW B. MOWERY , June 17, 2020, 11:07 am

Avery Fenchel might not have gotten the opportunity to lead the Novi Wildcats to a third straight Division 1 state title this spring, but she still brought home hardware, as she was named the Gatorade Michigan Girls Soccer Player of the Year on Wednesday.

Fenchel is the first recipient of the award from Novi.

A forward, Fenchel compiled 25 goals — including the game-winner to clinch the Wildcats’ second straight Division 1 title last spring — and 14 assists as a junior, giving her 58 goals and 29 assists in her Novi career. She was a member of the MIHSSCA Dream Team in 2019, and the only soccer player nominated for the Detroit Athletic Club’s Michigan High School Athlete of the Year award. 

[RELATED: Delta’s Addie Chester named 2019-20 Gatorade Indiana Girls Soccer Player of Year]

“Avery is a special talent—she has a tenacity and a desire to just be better,” Novi coach Todd Pheiffer said in Gatorade’s news release. “She has a presence on the field that everyone is well aware of. She has the determination and the heart that separates her from every other player on the field.” 

Fenchel is signed to play at Ball State next season. 


Previous Gatorade Michigan POY recipients

2019 — Jansen Eichenlaub, Birmingham Marian

2018 — Jansen Eichenlaub, Birmingham Marian

2017 — Emily Ashby, Grand Rapids Forest Hills Northern

2016 — Hannah Jones, Port Huron Northern

2015 — Hannah Jones, Port Huron Northern

2014 — Megan Buckingham, Northville

2013 — Madi Lewis, Plymouth

2012 — Madi Lewis, Plymouth

2011 — Olivia Brannon, Troy Athens

2010 — Annie Steinlage, Spring Lake

2009 — Annie Steinlage, Spring Lake

2008 — Laura Heyboer, Hudsonville Unity Christian

2007 — Laura Heyboer, Hudsonville Unity Christian

2006 — Lauren Hill, Northville

2005 — Danielle Underwood, Grand Rapids Forest Hills Northern

2004 — Marissa Sarkesian, Salem

2003 — Nicole Cauzillo, Northville

2002 — Lindsay Tarpley, Portage Central

2001 — Robyn Anne Morrell, Canton

2000 — Anne Morrell, Canton

1999 — Kristin Fisher, Rochester Adams

1998 — Alison Rackley, Birmingham Seaholm