• Michigan

Orchard Lake St. Mary’s Logan Wood selected as 2020 Gatorade Michigan Baseball Player of the Year

By: MATTHEW B. MOWERY, May 22, 2020, 10:44 am

Even without a senior season, Orchard Lake St. Mary’s pitcher Logan Wood still brought home the hardware, garnering Gatorade Michigan Baseball Player of the Year honors, it was announced Thursday. 

“Thank you Gatorade for this prestigious award!” Wood tweeted out Thursday afternoon. “Also want to say thanks to all my coaches and teammates and (Aaron Wilson, Michigan Scouting Director for Prep Baseball Report). Lastly, thanks to everyone else who has helped me throughout my career.”

He’s the first Eaglet to win Gatorade Player of the Year honors, but the eighth Catholic League player to win it since 2003. Wood joins a fraternity of winners from Michigan that include eventual big-leaguers D.J. LeMahieu, Zach Putnam, Nate McLouth, Drew Henson, J.J. Putz, Steve Avery, and newly-minted Hall of Famer Derek Jeter. 

Wood was a member of the Michigan High School Baseball Coaches Association’s Dream Team as a sophomore and junior, leading St. Mary’s to a state title last spring, throwing a two-hit shutout against Muskegon Oakridge in the semifinals. The University of Michigan commit earned 2020 Preseason All-America honors from both Collegiate Baseball News and Perfect Game. Last summer, he threw 16 shutout innings in elite tournament play as a member of the 2019 Perfect Game WWBA and Elite national championship squads. 

He finished his St. Mary’s career with a 23-5 record and 324 strikeouts in 212.2 innings pitched. 

Having earned the state honors from Gatorade, Wood is now in the running for Gatorade National Baseball Player of the Year honors, to be announced this month. 



2020 — Logan Wood, Orchard Lake St. Mary’s

2019 — Colin Czajkowski, Woodhaven

2018 — Spencer Schwellenbach, Saginaw Heritage

2017 — Steve Mann, Detroit Country Day

2016 — Tommy Henry, Portage Northern

2015 — Luke Shilling, Pontiac Notre Dame Prep

2014 — Kory Young, Rockford

2013 — Jackson Lamb, Temperance Bedford

2012 — Brett Sunde, Madison Heights Bishop Foley

2011 — Joel Seddon, St. Clair

2010 — Jack Livingston, Portage Northern

2009 — Pat Biondi, Dearborn Divine Child

2008 — Tyler Mills, Mt. Pleasant

2007 — D.J. LeMahieu, Birmingham Brother Rice

2006 — D.J. LeMahieu, Birmingham Brother Rice

2005 — Zach Putnam, Ann Arbor Pioneer

2004 — Doug Pickens, Birmingham Brother Rice

2003 — Dan Kapala, Royal Oak Shrine

2002 — Randy Frye, Lake Orion

2001 — Brian Miller, Charlotte

2000 — Nate McLouth, Whitehall

1999 — Bob Malek, Redford Detroit Catholic Central

1998 — Drew Henson, Brighton

1997 — Ryan Anderson, Dearborn Divine Child

1996 — Bryan Cranson, Bronson

1995 — J.J. Putz, Trenton

1994 — Steve Hornsberger, Brighton

1993 — Jason Middlebrook, Grass Lake

1992 — Derek Jeter, Kalamazoo Central

1991 — Ron Hollis, Brighton

1990 — Jeff Miller, Harper Woods Notre Dame

1989 — Dennis Konuszewski, Bridgeport

1988 — Steve Avery, Taylor Kennedy

1987 — Grady Davidson, Detroit King

1986 — Lawrence Wendt, Romeo