Cross Country

  • All

Seaholm takes home girls cross country title

By: Bill Khan, June 18, 2015, 9:50 am

Brooklyn – Birmingham Seaholm won for the third time in four years by a 90-136 margin over Brighton to win the Division 1 title at Michigan International Speedway on Saturday.

Junior Audrey Ladd was 11th (18:06.3), sophomore Rachel McCardell 16th (18:21.6), senior Mary Sanders 18th (18:21.9), senior Patty Girardot 19th (18:23.0) and sophomore Emily Rooney 53rd (18:54.6) for the Maples.

Grandville sophomore Madison Troy took first in 17:28.2, pulling away from a three-way battle down the stretch. Saline’s Jessi Larson was second in 17:30.9.

In Division 2, Otsego won its first championship by a comfortable 97-180 margin over East Grand Rapids. Two-time defending champion Grand Rapids Christian was third with 199. Leading Otsego from near the front of the pack were juniors Megan Aalberts (fifth, 18:38.8) and Sophia Hirzel (sixth, 18:42.1).

Hamilton junior Erika Freyhof coasted to victory in 18:00.7. Holland Christian sophomore Kayla Windemuller was second in 18:22.5.

In Division 4, Mount Pleasant Sacred Heart had the greatest performance ever by a girls’ team in the smallest division.

The Irish set a Division 4 record with 52 points, breaking the record of 66 set by Harbor Springs in 2009. Sacred Heart also became the first Division 4 girls’ team to have five runners break the 20-minute mark at MIS.

Ann Arbor Greenhills had four runners break 20 minutes in 2005.

Junior Alexis McConnell was fourth in 18:55.6, sophomore Bailley McConnell was fifth in 19:11.4, freshman Scout Nelson was 10th in 19:19.4, freshman Cammie McConnell was 17th in 19:31.2 and freshman Lauren MacDonald was 26th in 19:59.2.

Waterford Our Lady of the Lakes senior Tessa Fornari won in 18:14.5, while defending champion Ava Strenge of Battle Creek St. Philip was second in 18:23.5.