STATE CHAMPS! SCOUT TEAM: Checking out the college destinations for the 2019 Miss Volleyball finalists

By: MATTHEW B. MOWERY, September 17, 2019, 4:55 pm

Since the 10 candidates for the 2019 Miss Volleyball Award were announced last week, we thought the STATE CHAMPS! Scout Team should take a look at where those candidates are heading off to college. Even maybe more interestingly, we take a look at how early some of those candidates committed to their school of choice — something that’s relatively common at the elite levels of the sport. Since 2003, the Miss Volleyball Award has been given out jointly by the Michigan Interscholastic Volleyball Coaches Association and the Detroit Free Press, to the sport’s best senior player, as a culmination of a high school career.

Celia Cullen, Brighton, S/OH — Committed to Michigan State in Sept. 2016, during her freshman season.

Jordyn Gates, Grand Rapids Christian, S — Arkansas, after she received the offer before her sophomore season, at age 14.

Alexa Rousseau, Bloomfield Hills, S — Committed to Northwestern after her sophomore season.

Jess Mruzik, Farmington Hills Mercy, OH — Recently named MVP of the FIVB Girls’ Under 18 World Championship, leading the US to its first-ever gold medal, Mruzik committed to Michigan when she was a freshman.

Kendall Murray, Ann Arbor Skyline, OH — Committed to Michigan in July 2017, after her sophomore season. She’s following in the footsteps of her father, Vada Murray, who was a star safety at Michigan. 

Elizabeth Norris, Corunna, OH — Norris isn’t following in the footsteps of her sister, Meredith, the 2016 Miss Volleyball, who went to Michigan State, but has had an injury plagued career. Instead, Elizabeth Norris is committed to North Dakota.

Keona Salesman, Bronson, OH — Committed to Ferris State.

Andelyn Simkins, Schoolcraft, OH — Committed to Western Michigan in January.

Ashley Slater, Grand Haven, OH — Committed to Wake Forest after her junior year.

Alli Wiese, Mattawan, Libero — Committed to Hillsdale last December.

Previous winners of the Miss Volleyball award have gone to: Michigan State (2), Florida (2), Georgia Tech (2), Purdue, Michigan, Maryland, Valparaiso, George Washington, Penn State, Kent State, Akron, Hillsdale and Grand Valley.