• All

The Detroit Athletic Club announces the 12 finalists for its athlete of the year awards

By: Tom Markowski, April 9, 2016, 3:51 pm

Detroit – The Detroit Athletic Club announced on Wednesday the finalists for its 20th annual, female and male, Michigan High School Athlete of the Year award.

The six finalists in the female category are Kayla Dobies (track/cross country) of Macomb Dakota, Kysre Gondrezick (basketball) of Benton Harbor, Abby Krzywiecki (softball) of Farmington Hills Mercy, Giovanna Milano (volleyball) of Romeo, Kathryn Portz (swimming) of Ann Arbor Skyline and Madeline Trevisan (cross country/track) of Farmington.

The six male finalists are Morgan Beadlescomb (cross country) of Algonac, Karl Kauffmann (baseball) of Birmingham Brother Rice, Jacob Montague (swimming) of Grosse Pointe South, Tony Poljan (football/basketball) of Lansing Catholic Central, Matt Solberg (lacrosse/football) of East Grand Rapids and Cassius Winston (basketball) of U-D Jesuit.

The finalists were selected by a committee after its review of over 100 applicants. Included in the criteria a student must have to be nominated are a 3.0 or better grade-point average, being selected first team all-state and the student must have competed in a sport during his or her senior year.

The two winners will be announced at the DAC on May 9.