• All

The Detroit Athletic Club honors Gondrezick of Benton Harbor, Winston of U-D

By: Tom Markowski, May 11, 2016, 12:43 pm

(PHOTO CREDIT – Dave Donoher)


Detroit – Kysre Gondrezick of Benton Harbor and Cassius Winston of U-D Jesuit were named the winners of the Detroit Athletic Club Michigan High School Athlete of the Year award on Monday at the DAC.

Gondrezick was named Miss Basketball after averaging 40.5 points per game. She set a state record for points scored in a single game this past season as the 5-10 guard had 72 in a first round district game against Buchanan. Gondrezick signed with Michigan.

Winston is a 6-1 guard and he was named Mr. Basketball this past season. Winston is averaged 21.6 points, 7.2 assists, 5.3 rebounds and 2.2 steals as he led the Cubs to their first state title. Winston had one of his best games in the Class A final, a 69-49 victory over North Farmington. He had 31 points, nine assists, four rebounds and two steals. Winston was 14-of-16 from the field.

The other five finalists in the female category were Kayla Dobies (track/cross country) of Macomb Dakota, Abby Krzywiecki (softball) of Farmington Hills Mercy, Giovanna Milano (volleyball) of Romeo, Kathryn Portz (swimming) of Ann Arbor Skyline and Madeline Trevisan (cross country/track) of Farmington.

The other five male finalists were Morgan Beadlescomb (cross country) of Algonac, Karl Kauffmann (baseball) of Birmingham Brother Rice, Jacob Montague (swimming) of Grosse Pointe South, Tony Poljan (football/basketball) of Lansing Catholic Central and Matt Solberg (lacrosse/football) of East Grand Rapids.

State Champs! will broadcast a half hour show highlighting the awards ceremonies on Fox Sports on Saturday at 12:30 p.m.