• All

Voters select Destiny Pitts and Greg Elliott as top juniors

By: Tom Markowski, March 31, 2016, 5:03 pm

Southfield – Destiny Pitts of Detroit Country Day and Greg Elliott of Detroit East English Village Prep won the State Champs! online vote for the top basketball players in the class of 2017.

Pitts, 16, edged out Deja Church of Southfield-Lathrup, who placed second, in the female category and Elliott, 17, easily won the voting for the top male basketball player.

Pitts, a 5-10, guard-forward, averaged 15 points a game this past season and led Country Day to the Class B semifinals.

Both are uncommitted and both have received numerous scholarship offers from Division I schools.

Among the schools that have offered Pitts a scholarship include Clemson, Illinois, Kansas State, Marquette, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota and Seton Hall.

“I want to go out of state,” Pitts said. “If you get the opportunity to experience a school outside of Michigan, I’m going to do it. You’ve already experienced Michigan.

“I’m looking for a school that has a family atmosphere and I have to be around coaches who will take care of me because I will be away from my family.”

This was a breakout season for Elliott. He was the only junior in a starting lineup that include Karmari Newman, a Mr. Basketball finalist who signed with George Mason.

Elliott averaged 19 points and eight rebounds, and helped lead the Bulldogs to the school’s first Detroit Public School League championship.

He has been offered a scholarship by Buffalo, Cleveland State, Duquesne, George Mason, Kent State, Southern Mississippi, St. Bonaventure and Washington State. Other schools that have shown interest include Cincinnati, Iowa, Michigan, Vanderbilt and Xavier.

“I felt like I had to make an impact,” Elliott said. “Especially with all eyes on Karmari.”

The other three candidates for the voting for the female basketball players were Kierra Fletcher, Warren Cousino, Claire Hendrickson of Wyoming and Krystal Rice of Flint Hamady.

The other male athletes who were listed include Jamal Cain of Detroit Cornerstone, Ike Eke of U-D Jesuit, Jermaine Jackson, jr., of Macomb Dakota and Xavier Tillman of Grand Rapids Christian.