• All

WL Western’s Cody White wins Mr. Football Fan Vote to be automatically entered into Final Four

By: State Champs! Network, November 9, 2016, 6:00 pm

With 8,540 votes, Walled Lake Western’s Cody White has won the 2016 Hungry Howie’s Mr. Football Award Fan Vote and has been automatically entered into the Mr. Football Award Final Four!

The other three members of the Mr. Football Award Final Four will be announced on the STATE CHAMPS! High School Sports Show at 9:00 am on Sunday morning on Fox Sports Detroit!

This is the second consecutive year where a Walled Lake Western player has been entered into the Mr. Football Final Four. In 2015, Kyle Thomas was one of the three players selected into the last four candidates after Waterford Mott’s Dez Fitzpatrick won the fan vote.

The nine players who will be considered to join the Final Four along with White are Dearborn Fordson’s Hamze Elzayat, Detroit King’s Ambry Thomas, Orchard Lake St. Mary’s Joshua Ross, Detroit Cass Tech’s Donovan Peoples-Jones and Jaylen Kelly-Powell, St. Joseph’s Corey Malone-Hatcher, Davison’s Tariq Reid and Muskegon’s Kalil Pimpleton.

Elzayat finished in second place in the fan voting with 2,775 votes and Thomas finished in third with 1,112 votes.

Along with the Fan Vote being worth 20-percent of the vote, the rest of the criteria that will help decide the rest of the Final Four is Level of Competition (20-percent), Big Game Performance (15-percent), Team Success (10-percent) and Highly Recruited Athlete (5-percent).