Latest Blogs


August 1, 2019, 2:18 pm

Catholic League temporarily switches venue for football championships

ORCHARD LAKE — While the Catholic High School League’s annual fall football media day doesn’t usually rule anyone out definitively, this year’s event emphatically delineated who won’t be going to Ford Field for the CHSL championships. And that’s everybody. Given a scheduling conflict with the venue — which is hosting the third of three days’ ...

July 2, 2019, 1:36 pm

Eleven Michigan players earn all-North Region honors from National Fastpitch Coaches Association

Eleven Michigan players were honored by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association with all-region honors, announced Tuesday, five of them earning first-team All-North Region. Division 1 runner-up Howell led all Michigan teams with four honorees, three of them on the first team, while D1 semifinalist Clarkston had three second-teamers. Richland Gull Lake, Portage Central, Walled Lake ...


July 1, 2019, 1:50 pm

The MIGCA’s 2019 boys golf all-state teams, led by Mr. Golf, Grosse Pointe South’s Coalter Smith

2019 Michigan Interscholastic Golf Coaches Association All-State Boys Golf Teams 2019 MR. GOLF: Coalter Smith, Sr., Grosse Pointe South SUPER TEAM Jack Brockie, Jr., Hanover-Horton Charlie DeLong, Sr., DeWitt Erik Fahlen, Sr., NorthPointe Christian Austin Fauser, Sr., Clinton Mitch Lowney, Sr., Clarkston Everest Collegiate Coalter Smith, Sr., Grosse Pointe South Brad Smithson, Sr., Grand Rapids Forest ...

Track and Field

June 27, 2019, 2:01 pm

The Michigan Interscholastic Track Coaches Association’s 2019 Dream Teams, with Mr. and Ms. Michigan Track and Field

The Michigan Interscholastic Track Coaches Association’s Dream Teams for 2019 GIRLS TRACK AND FIELD DREAM TEAM 2019 LONG JUMP — Kennedy Jackson, Jr., Walled Lake Western — (18-feet-10.5) DISCUS — Belle Okoroafo, Soph., East Kentwood — (140-feet-10) SHOT PUT — Sarah Marvin, Soph., Byron — (44-feet-11.5) HIGH JUMP — Elizabeth Knoll, Jr., Muskegon Mona Shores — (5-feet-6) POLE VAULT — ...


June 24, 2019, 2:33 pm

The MHSTeCA all-state tennis teams for spring 2019, led by 2019 Miss Tennis, Sloane Teske of East Grand Rapids

Winner of the Tiger Teusink Miss Tennis Award for 2019: Sloane Teske, East Grand Rapids Finalists for the award: Tia Mukherjee, Bloomfield Hills; Monique Karoub, Detroit Country Day; Elizabeth Etterbeck, Bloomfield Hills Academy of the Sacred Heart ——— Previous winners: 2018 — Sanoli Kumar, Northville 2017 — Ava Thielman, Utica Eisenhower 2016 — Raven Neely, Grosse Pointe ...


June 20, 2019, 3:43 pm

The 2019 MIHSSCA girls soccer all-state lists

This year’s Miss Soccer and the Michigan High School Soccer Coaches Association’s Dream Team were unveiled earlier in the week, but here are the rest of the players who earned all-state honors from the MiHSSCA for the 2019 season: DIVISION 1 FIRST-TEAM ALL-STATE Name, Grade, Position, School Ally Gaunt, Sr., GK, Anchor Bay High School ...


June 20, 2019, 3:30 pm

The Michigan High School Softball Coaches Association 2019 all-state softball lists

DIVISION 1 FIRST-TEAM ALL-STATE Name, School, Position Tessa Nuss, Lake Orion, OF AJ Militello, Howell, OF Kelsey Zampa, Hartland, OF LaNya Bates, Grand Blanc, OF Ellie Sieler, Monroe, OF Kaelyn Stafford, Grand Haven, OF Allisa DiPrima, Walled Lake Northern, OF Sierra Kersten, Clarkston, SS Jenna Kroll, Walled Lake Northern, SS Erin Carter, Fenton, SS Skylar ...


June 20, 2019, 2:37 pm

The MHSLCA boys lacrosse all-state teams for 2019, headed by Mr. Lacrosse, Novi Detroit CC’s Joey Kamish

MR. LACROSSE: Joey Kamish, Novi Detroit Catholic Central Division 1 Coach of the Year: Ron Hebert, Lake Orion Division 1 Assistant Coach of the Year: Nick Garippa, Brother Rice Division 2 Coach of the Year: Matt Gregson, Flint Powers Division 2 Assistant Coach of the Year: Mike Bak, Ann Arbor Greenhills Man of the Year: Liam McIlroy, Detroit Cass Tech FIRST ...

June 19, 2019, 3:46 pm

The 2019 MHSBCA Michigan baseball all-state lists

2019 MHSBCA DREAM TEAM Position, Name, School, Grade P — Colin Czajkowski, Brownstown Woodhaven, Sr. P — Cam French, Portage Northern, Sr. P — Logan Wood, Orchard Lake St Mary’s, Jr. P — Chris Mokma, Holland Christian, Sr. P — Adam Berghorst, Zeeland East, Sr. INF — Nolan McCarthy, Portage Northern, Jr. INF — Trent Farquhar, Lakeland, Sr. INF — Alex ...